Welcome to Katherine

Situated 320 kilometres south of Darwin on the banks of the Katherine River, Katherine is the third largest town in the Northern Territory. The Katherine region is fondly known as ‘Adventure Territory’, boasting the magnificent Nitmiluk (Katherine Gorge) National Park, the Katherine Hot Springs, and the Katherine Low Level Nature Reserve. Katherine has a modern air-conditioned shopping centre, hospital, sports grounds, parks and gardens, and a range of Commonwealth and Territory Government services. Katherine is the closest major town to RAAF Base Tindal, located only 17 km south east. Defence families posted to Tindal can access education, health, local government services and employment opportunities in Katherine. Looking for information on Alice Springs or Darwin?

Suburbs of Katherine

Katherine is quite a large town by its land area despite a combined population of around 10,000 people. The Katherine Town Council zone extends from Flora River Junction in the west to Maranboy in the east and from the Fergusson River in the north to the Sturt Plateau in the south. Other shire zones in the Katherine Region are the Victoria Daly and the Roper Gulf Shires.

NT Public Holidays

Click here to see the public holidays observed in the NT during 2019 and 2020.

2020 Annual Review of ADF Accommodation assistance and contributions

The outcome of the annual review of ADF members’ accommodation assistance and contributions is anticipated to be reflected in members’ salaries during February 2020.

Members may see an increase or decrease in their Defence accommodation related contributions and allowances for Service Residences, Living-in accommodation, Rent allowance, meal allowance and other allowances and charges.

Members will be notified of any changes prior to their salary changing through a range of Service notification channels including Service Newspapers, Defgram and Signal.

Director Military Conditions and Housing Policy, Mr Derek Cox, acknowledged the importance of this annual review.

“Defence undertakes the annual review to ensure the Defence requirement of sharing the national cost of housing with ADF members on a 50/50 basis is met each year,” Mr Cox said.

These annual changes to contributions and charges are based on movement in the broader rental market, Consumer Price Index and national average meal costs.

Members with questions about the annual review of accommodation assistance and contributions should speak to their chain of command or visit the Pay and Conditions Manual (PACMAN).



Approximately 10,000.
Sourced from www.abs.gov.au

Major Attractions

Katherine Gorge, Edith Falls, Katherine Hot Springs, Cutta Cutta Caves Nature Park, Katherine Museum, Mataranka

Local Councils



Current weather

Weather powered by Dark Sky